Remnants of Chirstmas Sewing

22 Feb

Due to brokeness I decided to make all my presents this holiday.  Bascially I put out a collection.  I made three jackets, two dresses, an apron, a night gown, four scarves, and bally knows what else.  Of course I planned to photograph them all and of course I did not, but due to two rounds of alterations I still have this in my possesion.  It’s a wool jacket I made for my dad.  I used a plaid wool my destashing aunt gave me and some lining fabric from the endless series of nearly identical lining fabric my project advisor at FIT caused me to buy because she kept not liking any of them until she finally settled on the first.  Seriously. True story. I might add for catharsis’s sake that she also made me change a collar on a coat six or seven times before deciding on- I kid you not- the original collar.

My favorite part is the buttons which I made myself out of an old leather belt. Turns out I have got to a place in my neuroses where I can’t look at anything without thinking ‘how can I make this into clothes’.  Oh well at least I’m not making bombs.

 

3 Responses to “Remnants of Chirstmas Sewing”

  1. Julie Rose Sews February 22, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    This is beautiful! The leather buttons are so cute and rustic.

    xo Julie

    • usernamealreadyexsists February 22, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Thanks! And to think two years ago i couldn’t tell a bobbin from a hole in my head. Go FIT. I love the designer your interning for btw– jealous:)

  2. prttynpnk February 23, 2012 at 4:41 am #

    Making your own buttons is wonderful, i wish i had your creative eye!

Leave a Reply

