Why I am the Luckiest Girl in the World

1 Feb

This post may contain type shouting. Reader discretion is advised.

Ok so this is not going to be one of those luckiest girl in the world posts where I wax poetic about my amazing family (although they are) and my cushion-y first world life and how I found a new appreciation for blah blah blah. No I am the luckiest girl in the world because while searching for christmas lights in my basement this holiday.  I FOUND THIS.

Do you know what it is yet?  Do you understand where I’m coming from?  This was JUST SITTING IN MY BASEMENT.  Seriously.  JUST SITTING IN MY BASEMENT.  I don’t know what to do about this.  I phoned my dad and I was like DO YOU KNOW WHAT I JUST FOUND JUST SITTING IN THE BASEMENT?!?   And he said ‘yeah I used to use that to repair sails on the boat’.  Ok dad so your daughter is clearly obsessed with both sewing and vintage items and you never thought to mention that THERE IS A GORGEOUS HUNDERED YEAR OLD SEWING MACHINE JUST SITTING IN THE BASEMENT.  Break while I breathe into a paper bag.

Isn’t she bee-you-ti-full?  I got a couple stitches out of her before the bobbin ran out and once removed I cannot get the crazy bullet bobbin case back into the machine.  I need a sewing machine medic.  Unfortunaly that search has been put on hold but I intend to resume it fairly soon as I have a project in mind for this machine, more on that later.   According to the serial number she was born in 1912. Happy 100th old girl.  Boy do I wish you could give a toast, you must have quite the story to tell.

2 Responses to “Why I am the Luckiest Girl in the World”

  1. deetledee February 1, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Incredible. You are truly blessed to find such a treasure!

  2. Thread Ov Metal February 2, 2012 at 7:11 am #

    Wow! How awesome! What a treat!

Leave a Reply

