Bangers anyone? Mash?

27 Nov

Yesterday I found myself unable to resist the gravitational pull of the fabric store and ended up purchasing this.

When am I going to learn to walk six or seven blocks out of my way in the pouring rain so as not to go anywhere near purchasable fabric?  Must work on that.  I am also not sure when I became such an anglophile.  I lived in London for what, a summer?  Although I have been obsessed with the phone booths since I was a small child.  I just don’t see why ordinary things can’t also be aesthetically  pleasing.  Life would be so much more fun if people put the kind of design into things that they used to (ok grandma moment) but lets take a moment and talk about cash registers.

Look how pretty!  How much fun would it be to work with one of these?  But I am wandering off the point.  I want to make this dress with a back cut out that will close with two buttons and the top.  So clearly I need to stay on theme, thus begins my perilous and unending search for union jack buttons that I can afford.  Etsy turned up these from seller titchables

These are so awesome, but not affordable if you are me and make as close as one can get to no money without actually being a houseplant.

Ebay had these tidbits of gloriousness, but once you add shipping from Great Britain, again too many monies.  Perhaps I shall retreat to that old standby of the cash strapped and try to make some myself.  Maybe get white buttons and paint them?  Do something tricksy with ribbons? Give up altogether because if I don’t I will not wear this dress until the next ice age and it will not be weather appropriate?  So much to ponder.

5 Responses to “Bangers anyone? Mash?”

  1. Kris November 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    You could check out the button heaven known as Button Button, and hope that they have something that won’t break the bank?

    • usernamealreadyexsists November 28, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

      What an idea! I haven’t been there in a really long time because I have been afraid I would walk out with no rent money. I went today and boy do they have some cute stuff, I found some flag buttons 95 cents each and not really that special but it was nice just too look around. Also, I may have to go back for sushi buttons.

      • Kris December 1, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

        I got some vintage bakelite buttons the last time I went in there. $40 later… So lovely, but so dangerous!

  2. Lisa December 9, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    If you’re handy with clay, you could try making some out of Sculpey…but I’m not sure how they’d hold up in the wash, though.

    • usernamealreadyexsists December 9, 2011 at 8:33 am #

      Yes, I did think of that. I have some Fimo sitting around somewhere although I don’t know if it’s still good because it’s pretty vintage itself. I did not think of the wash thing however- good point, very good point indeed. I do not want to be chipping sculpting agent out of my washer with a flat head screw driver.

Leave a Reply

