a beautiful pea-green boat

30 Jun

I discovered the most charming book today (see above).  Aristocratic owl meets pussycat from wrong side of tracks.  Society scoffs so they sail away and finally find acceptance in the land where the bong-trees grow.   I have always been a die-hard proponent of the Jan Brett version, it being an integral part of my childhood.  This is the version for grown-ups.  Now that we know life isn’t all friendly tropical fish all the time, but are still enchanted by fantastic illustrations and the thought of “sailing away for a year and a day”.    It is amazing to me how a story can be changed so drastically by different illustrations.  Now all I need is ‘The Illustrated Compendium of Runcible Spoons and What the Heck They Are’.  Do they sell this on Amazon?  Does anyone know?

2 Responses to “a beautiful pea-green boat”

  1. JT November 15, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    A runcible spoon is apparently a spork with a sharp edge. So a sporkife?

    • usernamealreadyexsists November 15, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      Thank you. I guess I could have googled that myself, but it does make me happy that there is someone out there with prior knowledge of runcible spoons.

Leave a Reply

