Two Christmas Dresses (with proper pictures)

6 Jan

A Sewing Machine and an Umbrella is proud to present… much better photos that should have been in that last post.

This was my first attempt at Victory rolls, and I have to say they are much more difficult than I had hoped.  I am not really a ‘hair’ person.  I usually spend my time putting together an outfit and then stick my hair on top of my head and swipe on some mascara.  I really love this hair style though, and I hope to one day be competent at it.  I spent a bunch of time looking at internet tutorials, the best of which, in my opinion is by Fleur over at Diary of a Vintage Girl.  Does anyone do this on a regular basis? Any tips?

vintage inspired look

vintage inspired cotton dress

IMG_4911

Fleece lined Pockets!

Fleece lined Pockets!

IMG_4935

I used some brown and white fleece to make the pocket bags and do the binding on the inside.  I think warm fuzzy pockets are a very important feature in a dress that is going to be worn in December in Vancouver.  Not that is gets that cold here, more so depressing.  I think that is the best way to describe winter in Vancouver two degrees with a chance of depressing.  Fuzzy pockets help.

vintage chtistmas dress

IMG_4922Stupid tag sticking out the back! That particular tag is the most persistent little bugger.

IMG_4931The fabric close up.  The colour is truer in the other pictures, it came out a little more red here for reason that only the camera gods can understand.

So that’s Christmas dresses.  Now onto spring!

5 Responses to “Two Christmas Dresses (with proper pictures)”

  1. Ruffles Gazebo January 6, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

    wow they are both so lovely ^_^ what a great christmas!

  2. foamofdays January 13, 2013 at 3:44 am #

    Love the fabric! (both of them) Where did you manage to find this gorgeous retro print for a shirt dress? I want it!

    • usernamealreadyexsists January 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

      Thanks! I got it at fabricland. I think its called Sherry Berry Twelve Days of Christmas. Its a couple seasons old but you could try goole-ing. Good luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two Christmas Dresses - January 6, 2013

    [...] More on my blog, A Sewing Machine and an Umbrella. Cheers [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

