Scarlett O’Hara or Woman on the Verge

5 Sep

I, like most people*,  spend a lot of time trying to discern if I have in fact lost my marbles or if there is any chance that this is how a human being might actually behave.   I wonder if I am pawning behavior off on an ‘artistic temperament’ that is actually nothing more than stone cold crazy.  If I am indeed crazy should I do anything about it?  Medication? Vacation? Years of therapy? I don’t believe that I can afford any of those.  What I can afford is Ikea fabric that was left over from my new curtains.  Can I pawn crazy off on poverty?  Probably not.

Crazy or no.  Here is my new skirt.  It is very bright green.  It has massive flowers/ cabbages/ pod people on it.  It has a dwindling number of Geisha buttons (stupid crowded bus).  It is kind of crazy.  But it is also awesome. I’m not going to be one of those people who seems normal but then screams at you in a hasty mart at 3am for taking too long to pay for cheezies.  Nope, I am going to wear my crazy on the outside.  With pride.

green ikea fabric half circle circle

Not the best picture, but waiting for photographic perfection was not turning out a whole lot of blog posts.

closeup of green skirt with geisha buttons

I am extraordinarily fond of these buttons.  I hope the one that got lost on the bus was picked up by a curious child or a magpie-like old lady and not merely vacuumed.

curtains made from green Ikea fabric

Here are the curtains.  The first and last pair I will ever sew.  And yes, I do own a gumball machine.  I gave it to the boyfriend for Christmas one year.  I believe he would have been happy with a sweater but I felt like a gumball machine was the more practical choice.

(* No? Really? Darn.)

3 Responses to “Scarlett O’Hara or Woman on the Verge”

  1. prttynpnk September 6, 2012 at 3:48 am #

    I loved it before I saw the buttons- now I lurve it!

  2. EmSewCrazy January 6, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    I followed you over from WeSewRetro and think it is a super cute skirt! I actually like it better as a skirt than as curtains. The buttons are pretty amazing too!
    I just started blogging and it’s nice to hear I’m not the only one who struggles with taking good pictures. You have some really cute stuff on here!

    • usernamealreadyexsists January 7, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

      Thanks so much! I like it better as a skirt too, although my skirt making skills are much stronger than my curtain making skills so that may be a contributing factor. I think pictures are by far the hardest part. I’ll have to check out your blog. I bet it’s fabulous :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

